Affordable Gaming: The Sandwich Test

I am a student and a gamer. Being both on a budget isn’t always the easiest thing in the world. This is why I have come up with the sandwich test. I agonise over spending money on anything, but most of all on things like games and magic cards, which, despite being my favourite hobbies, aren’t as important as food. So, I have something I mentally refer to as the sandwich test.

The sandwich test is, if the game costs less than I have paid for a sandwich in the last couple of weeks, I don’t have to feel bad about buying it. This is normally games on sale on steam, in fact, I don’t think I have every paid full price for a game on steam. Buying games so cheap can be a bit hit and miss. Some games have been amazing, (Sins of a Solar Empire series, Mount and Blade series, Killing Floor, Fallout 3 with all the dlc) and some haven’t been great. Actually, that isn’t fair to a couple (Trine, Terraria, RAGE, The Binding of Issac) which weren’t exactly bad, but just weren’t my thing.

Then there are a couple that I haven’t got round to playing, or have only played for a couple of hours and mean to put some more time in to. And there are some all stars in this list. I mean, Left for Dead 2 (0 hours on steam), Dragon Age: Orgins – Ultimate Edition (4 hours, think I’m going to try this again soon) Star Wars: KOTOR 1 & 2 and Deus EX: Human Revolution (which I played for about 2 hours, but have been put off by the clunky controls).

There are a few more that just don’t like, but in the end I don’t feel too bad, because trying a new is fun, and if I don’t like it, it isn’t much different from when I’ve tried a sandwich and not liked it. It’s a bit disappointing sure, but there is always another sandwich. It’s not like when you have a meal out and it’s bad and you don’t have another for months.

Also, as you might be able to tell, I REALLY like sandwiches.

One thought on “Affordable Gaming: The Sandwich Test

Leave a Reply

